Warning: include(/var/chroot/home/content/d/a/v/davidhenderson/html/exploreangkorwat/components/com_weblinks/controllers/css.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/68/4256868/html/exploreangkorwat/index.php on line 14

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '/var/chroot/home/content/d/a/v/davidhenderson/html/exploreangkorwat/components/com_weblinks/controllers/css.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/68/4256868/html/exploreangkorwat/index.php on line 14
Open letter The British Government must take global leadership with a 'total ban' on the ivory trade  - Khmer News - Explore Angkor Wat

Explore Angkor Wat

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Open letter: The British Government must take global leadership with a 'total ban' on the ivory trade 

We hope that the United Kingdom’s position with regard to our future elephant conservation strategy will be made abundantly clear at the forthcoming Illegal Wildlife Trade meeting to be held in Hanoi, Vietnam, on the 17-19th November, and that the measures we have set out in this Open Letter will be enacted as a matter of the utmost priority. Yours sincerely, Rt Hon. Lord Hague of Richmond    Rt Hon. Owen Paterson, MP, Conservative - North Shropshire Virginia McKenna OBE, Co-Founder, Born Free Foundation Adam M Roberts, CEO Born Free USA Allan Thornton, EIA US Alexander Rhodes, Stop Ivory Angela Rayner MP, Labour - Ashton under Lyne  Ann Michels, Species Survival Network Anne Kent Taylor, Conservationist and Founder A.K Taylor Int'l/Anne K. Taylor Fund Angela Sheldrick, Chief Executive Officer, The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb, Green Party Baroness Young of Hornsey, Crossbench Peer Bryan Adams  Caroline Lucas MP, Green Party Co-leader Carter and Olivia Ries, Co-Founders, One More Generation Catherine Doyle, M.S., Director of Science, Research and Advocacy PAWS Cathy Liss, President, Animal Welfare Institute Charlie Mayhew MBE, Tusk Trust Chris Draper C Biol MRSB, Associate Director – Animal Welfare and Care, Born Free Foundation Dale Jamieson, Professor of Environmental Studies and Philosophy, New York University Dr Dame Daphne Sheldrick DBE, Founder, The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust Damien Aspinall, Aspinall Foundation Daniela Freyer, Co-Founder Pro Wildlife David B. Casselman Esq., Co-Founder of the Cambodia Wildlife Sanctuary David Hancocks, Former Director (Woodland Park Zoo, Seattle, Washington) and Melbourne Zoo and Werribee Open Range Zoos, Victoria, Australia David Shepherd CBE, Founder and President, David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation David Wynne-Morgan, President, Bell Pottinger Financial and Corporate/Trustee, Born Free Foundation Donnamarie O'Connell, Senior Policy and Programme Advisor (Africa), RSPCA Prof. Jonathan Baillie, Zoological Society of London Dr. Keith Lindsay, Amboseli Trust for Elephants, Kenya Dr. Rob Atkinson, Zoologist Dr. Ros Clubb, Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Dr. Rosalind Reeve, Senior Adviser, David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation Dr. Alejandro Nadal, Centre for Economic Studies Dr. Joyce H. Poole, Co-Founder and Scientific Director, ElephantVoices Dr. Lori Marino, Executive Director, The Kimmela Center forAnimal Advocacy Dr. Paula Kahumbu O.G.W, CEO Wildlife Direct Ed Stewart, President and Co-Founder, Performing Animal Welfare Society (PAWS) Elizabeth Emanuel, Fashion Designer Georgina Lamb, Fundraising, Events and Policy Manager, David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation Prof. Graeme Young, Trustee, Born Free Foundation Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, Journalist and Presenter Ian Redmond OBE, Ambassador for the UN Convention on Migratory Species James Lewis MRICS, Presenter, Auctioneer and Valuer Jenny Seagrove, Trustee, Born Free Foundation Jeremy Cooper, CEO, RSPCA UK Jill Robinson MBE, Dr. med vet, Founder and CEO Animals Asia Foundation Joanna Lumley, Founder Member, Born Free Foundation John Cleese, Writer/Actor/Comedian Dr. John Knight, Veterinarian, Zoo and Wildlife Management Consultant John Stephenson, CEO, Stop Ivory John W. Grandy, PhD, Executive Director, The Pegasus Foundation Johnny Rodrigues, The Chairman of Zimbabwe Conservation Task Force Julie Sherman, Executive Director, Wildlife Impact Julie Woodyer, Zoocheck Canada Kerry McCarthy MP, Labour - Bristol East Dr. Kate Evans, Founder & Director, Elephants for Africa Lisa F. Kane, JD, Attorney Liz Bonnin, Wild Animal Biologist and Presenter Lord Judd MP, Labour Peer Lord Stoddart of Swindon, Independent Labour Peer Marc Bekoff, Ph.D., University of Colorado, Professor emeritus of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Marcelle Meredith, Executive Director of the National Council of SPCAs in South Africa Maria Mossman, Founder - Action for Elephants Martin Clunes OBE, Patron, Born Free Foundation Mary Rice, EIA International Michael Drake, Trustee, Born Free Foundation Michael Kennedy, Director, Humane Society International (Australia) Michael Reyner, Chairman, Born Free Foundation Mr. Petter K. Granli, Co-Founder, President and CEO, ElephantVoices Nick Knowles Nicky Campbell OBE, Broadcaster and Wildlife Campaigner Ofir Drori, The EAGLE Network and LAGA - The Last Great Ape Organization Paul Monaghan MP, SNP - Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross Paula Sparks, Barrister and Chairperson, Association of Lawyers for Animal Welfare Peter Stroud, Independent Zoological Consultant Philip Mansbridge, Director UK, International Fund for Animal Welfare Prof. Phyllis Lee, Director of Science, Amboseli Trust for Elephants and Prof. of Psychology (University of Stirling) Prashant Khetan, Chairman, Born Free USA Prof. Andrew Knight, Professor of Animal Welfare and Ethics, & Director, Centre for Animal Welfare, University of Winchester Prof. Claudio Sillero, University of Oxford Prof. Vincent Nijman, Professor in Anthropology, Oxford Brookes University Rob Hepworth, Ex-Head, UK CITES Management Authority; former Executive Secretary, UN Convention on Migratory Species Ms Rula Lenska          Ruth Powys, CEO, Elephant Family Sally Case, CEO, David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation Dr. Sandra Altherr, Co-founder, ProWildlife Sarah Uhlemann, International Program Director, Stanley Johnson, Co-Chairman, Environmentalists for Europe Stephen Wells, Executive Director, Animal Legal Defence Fund Steven M. Wise, Esq, Founder and President, the Nonhuman Rights Project Sue Olsen, Chairman, Olsen Animal Trust Teresa M. Telecky, Ph.D., Humane Society International The Revd. Professor Andrew Linzey, Director of the Oxford Centre for Animal Ethics Timothy Oloo HSC, Kenya Country Manager, Born Free Foundation Will Travers, Co-Founder, CEO and President, Born Free Foundation Dr. Winnie Kiiru, CHD-ConservationKenya Explore Angkor Wat